Middle School Curriculum

The curriculum, based on research of how boys respond and learn at this phase of their lives, is delivered through 10 key learning areas:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Studies of Society
  • Modern Languages
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Expressive Arts (Visual Arts, Drama, Media Studies and Music)
  • Design and Technology
  • Information and Media Studies.

Each learning area incorporates the cross-curricular priorities of literacy, numeracy, life skills and a future perspective. Emphasis is on comprehending, collecting, structuring and sequencing; analysing, assessing and concluding; creating and presenting; and applying techniques and procedures. Wherever possible, information communication technology is interwoven into the formal academic program.

Formal Academic Program

  • Studies in English, Modern Languages, Mathematics, Expressive Arts and Information Media Studies assist students to communicate.
  • Social Science and Science encourage an understanding of the social and physical environment.
  • Religious Education helps boys understand both the living and the hereafter.
  • Health and Physical Education focuses on a healthy mind in a healthy body.
  • Expressive Arts, Information Media Studies, and Design and Technology encourage individual talents and interests.

Return to Middle School